The Inevitable Laws of Bicycle Commuting


While riding my bike the other day it occured to me that certain things happen in my daily treks to-and-fro work that just seem inevitable. I thought it would be fun and perhaps cathartic to make a list.

  • Just as I approach the intersection, the light turns red.
  • The road will be clear until I want to make a left and then suddenly will be clogged with traffic.
  • When waiting for a line of ten cars to pass so I can make a left turn, the driver of car #10 will stop to let me go.
  • When a city bus is stopped in my lane and I try to pass it it will inevitably pull out when I’m right next to it. If I wait for the bus, however, it will sit at the stop for a long time
  • If I think I can outrace the coming storm, I’ll get caught in a downpour a quarter of a mile from work.
  • Taxis will double park in the bike lane
  • Pedestrians who would never step in front of a moving car have no problem jaywalking right in front of me.
  • People say I’m crazy for riding in the cold.
  • People say I’m crazy for riding in Boston.
  • I’ll come up with a brilliant idea while riding but won’t be able to remember it when I can actually write it down.

A lot of these are grumpy and negative so here’s a positive one:

  • When I’m feeling that I just don’t want to get on that bike but force myself to do so I end up having an exhilirating ride that lifts my mood.
3 responses to this post.

  1. Great tips! I started biking to work last summer and pretty much all of your laws above have come true. The positive one at the end is especially true – in the morning, it seems any excuse not to ride I’ll consider, but then, after I actually get going, I whip by the sullen traffic and actually have fun. cheers, ian

    Reply

  2. Yeah, all so very true (although I can’t verify that one about riding in Boston!)

    I’m glad that at least you were able to remember the brilliant idea for this entry!

    Reply

  3. Bike Commuters on commuting burnout.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 985 other followers

