Friday Sillies: Unshelved, the library comic strip


Generally I select things for Friday Sillies that are new funny things I’ve discovered on the internet.  My hope is that I’m actually promoting something new as opposed to something that every online hipster saw years ago and is now old and tired.  Today, I’m promoting Unshelved, the online comic strip that’s set in a library by Gene Ambaum and Bill Barnes.  This is not new, I’ve been reading it for years, and I really can’t remember a time when I didn’t have my daily fix of Unshelved. I’m prompted to mention Unshelved now because I just received their new book Read Responsibly in the mail.  Yes, the comic is online with archives going back to 2002, but I still bought the book.  It’s that good. While there’s a lot of relevant library humor in the strip, don’t be scared off if you’re not a librarian.  Just as you can read Dilbert without being an engineer or enjoy WKRP in Cincinnati without being a DJ, Unshelved is funny because of the characters that come together – often absurdly – in the public forum of the library.  You can set up an email subscription to have an Unshelved delivered to you daily or you can set up an rss feed, which is what I do.  Or every time you come here you can click on the link to Unshelved in the right-hand column, but I don’t recommend it because you might forget and miss out.  Or you may not be reading this to begin with because I average only 40 hits a day and most of those are Susan and Craig. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

