Archive for January 2nd, 2008

A Holiday Just For Me

And I mean really just for me.

Today is Introvert Day, at least according to Diane Cameron of The Christian Science Monitor. Cameron is a bit strident in her defensiveness of introversion. For example, I think it’s okay to be shy and introverted (because I am). I guess it’s hard being lumped together like LGBT’s.

Cameron makes some good points:

Up to 75 percent of the population is considered extroverted, so we’re outnumbered three-to-one. American culture tends to reward extroversion, while being disdainful and suspicious of reflection and solitude. I’ve learned to spot my like-minded peers, though. We’re the folks walking toward a festive house saying, “How long do we have to stay?” Or we’re the ones in the center of the room assessing others’ interactions, and slowly backing toward the door. Introverts crave meaning, so party chitchat feels like sandpaper to our psyche.

I’ll have to say though, shy and introverted as I may be, that I actually like going to parties.  To quote Randal from Clerks, “I hate people, but I love gatherings.  Isn’t it ironic?”  At the most recent party I attended I enjoyed meeting and talking with a lot of different people.  I just prefer to meet and talk with them one at a time, not always easy at a party.  Overall the party was really loud and overstimulating but I made it through unscathed.  After something like that I do need a lot of me time, or these days just time alone with my family.

Sadly, this is not a legal holiday so I’ve had to go to work and interact with people even though I’d rather celebrate this holiday by cuddling up with a good book.  If you’re able to celebrate properly, I recommend reading Party of One: The Loner’s Manifesto by Annelli Rufus.

Happy Introvert Day to everyone, er, to every one by one.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,090 other followers

