Archive for September 21st, 2010

12 Books in 12 Months Challenge

I discovered a book reading challenge via Gypsy Librarian about reading 12 books from one’s own collection within the next twelve months.  Since I almost always read books from the library and procrastinate reading the books I own (no deadline, I suppose), I figured this would be worth trying.

Here are the rules:

  • Pick 12 titles from your To Read Pile.  These should be titles you currently own in whatever format you prefer.
  • Acquisition of other formats or translations is permitted.  So, if you have a paperback but want to read on your Kindle, you can get a Kindle copy.  If you have a library copy but want to buy your own, that’s kosher.  Heck, if you own a copy and want to check another out from the library, I’m not gonna stop you.
  • Post your list in your public space of choice by September 1, 2010.  If you prefer not to post, you can just leave a comment with your list.
  • Read all 12 titles between now and September 5, 2011.  Might as well tack on an extra long weekend at the end for cramming.
  • When you finish a title on your list, post about it in your public space of choice.  If you prefer not to post, you can just leave a comment with your review.
  • Once a month, I’ll post a round-up of the reviews posted from that month so that we all know what everyone else has read.

I missed the deadline, but I think I can still swing it.

Here is my list:

  • Mapping Boston by Alex Krieger
  • The No Cry Sleep Solution by Elizabeth Pantley
  • Where Good Ideas Come From by Steven Johnson
  • Freddy the Pilot by Walter R. Brooks
  • Zen and the Birds of Appetite by Thomas Merton
  • The Fifties by David Halberstam
  • Catwatching by Desmond Morris
  • Truman by David McCullough
  • Light in August by William Faulkner
  • It Happened in Boston by Russell H. Greenan
  • The Name Above the Title by Frank Capra
  • Good Wives, Nasty Wenches, & Anxious Patriarchs by Kathleen M. Brown
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,050 other followers

