Archive for August 17th, 2012

Storytelling Podcasts

Over the last couple of years I’ve become interested in the art of storytelling through a number of podcasts I listen to regularly.  I figured I’d spread the word about these fine programs by listing and describing them here.

  • The Moth is probably the premiere storytelling program both on radio and on podcasts featuring stories told at live performances without notes.  Sometimes the storytellers are celebrities, but usually they are ordinary people and the stories are always compelling.  Subscribe here.
  • The Story Collider follows a similar format although stories relate to the tellers’ experiences with science.  Subscribe here.
  • Risk!, as the name implies, is more risqué storytelling from live performances and studio recordings.  Generally it’s not as raunchy as you might expect and there are some well told stories.  One warning is that the host is pretty annoying and sometimes creepy (especially when he reads advertisements for sex toys).  I generally fast forward about 4 minutes into the podcast to get to the storytelling.  Subscribe here.
  • Snap Judgement is a public radio show which features personal stories told in a studio format with more production and effects than the above stories.  This show has more of a populist, everyman/woman feel to it.  Subscribe here.
  • The Memory Palace is not strictly a storytelling show in the same vein as others mentioned, but it features one man Nate Dimeo spinning short stories about obscure historical events and is wonderfully done.   Subscribe here.
  • Finally, Garrison Keillor is a natural-born storyteller and while his tales are presumably fictional, I still enjoy listening to his News from Lake Wobegon as a podcast each week.

I’ve not been to a storytelling show live although there is a program called Massmouth which holds story slams not too far from where I love.  Something to add to my to do list for sure.  Perhaps one day I’ll tell my own story.

So, have you heard any good stories lately?  What should I be listening to?

Pitchfork People’s List

Pitchfork is running a poll called the People’s List where anyone can login and vote for at least 20 and as many as 100 of their favorite albums from 1996-2011.  I made my list mostly based upon albums from my own 2009 ranking of my 100 favorite albums of all time.  Numbers 1-52 retain the ranking from the earlier list while the additional albums are inserted more haphazardly.

I’m actually surprised at how many albums I had to fill in manually.  It makes me feel like a hipster to have musical tastes that are too obscure for Pitchfork.  Or maybe I’m too bland.   To be honest I’m no longer all to content with my ranking from three years ago.  I also feel like there are a lot of good albums out there that I haven’t listened to yet.

So take a moment to go Pitchfork Media and make your own People’s List.  Then come back here and post your list in the comments and let me know a few albums I really need to hear.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,050 other followers

