World Cup of Reading


So, the FIFA World Cup ended over a month ago, but I still used this year’s tournament as inspiration to revive my ongoing Around the World for a Good Book project.  The basic gist is that I’m attempting to read a work of fiction (in English or English translation) from every country in the world.  So far I’ve been able to read literature from more fifty nations, but I’ve stalled out the past couple of years.

My goal for 2014 is to try to read a book for all 32 nations represented in this years World Cup.  Luckily, countries I’ve read abundantly – such as England and the United States – as well as other countries I’ve read for the project were represented in the tournament, so I will only have 12 books to read to complete the field.

Here are the books I’ve read, or plan to read, for the World Cup nations of 2014.  As always, I’m open to suggestions.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Two soccer-related books you could add:
    Uruguay: Soccer in Sun and Shadow by Eduardo Galeano

    Netherlands: Brilliant Orange by David Winner

    Reply

  2. I am trying to stick to fiction wherever I can, although Soccer in Sun and Shadow is definitely a book I’ve been meaning to read.

    I did read Brilliant Orange a few years back: http://othemts.wordpress.com/2009/05/12/book-review-brilliant-orange-by-david-winner/

    Reply

    • Makes sense. The Galeano book is a very enjoyable, poetic ode to the beautiful game, while also eviscerating its corruption. Definitely worth a read.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

