Library News for April


Here’s my latest collection of news and opinion of interest regarding the library. The World Almanac puts out a call for help to librarians (and includes links to even more librarian blogs than I already read). Having been a compulsive reader of The World Almanac since childhood, I stammer and drool when I hear my…

The Best Bits from Blogs and Broadsheets


As I seem to do about once a month, I’ve collected some tidbits from weblogs and news sources that I found of interest. If you want to live green, live in a city according to Douglas Foy and Robert Healey (from Boston.com via Streetsblog). MANY OF the world’s most difficult environmental challenges can be addressed…

Beer Review: Narragansett Beer


And now a traditional New England beer courtesy of Charlie’s Kitchen. Beer: Narragansett Beer Brewer: Narragansett Brewing Company Source: Draft Rating: ** (6.0 of 10) Comments: Once upon a time, Narragansett was the beer of New England, and many a Red Sox game was accompanied by a ‘Gansett. This was before my time but I…

Win, Loss, Rain, Rain, Sweep


I had a lot of extra time to review the Nationals series but didn’t use it and then let the whole next series slip by. In my defense, that series against the Phillies was only one game, but the Mets win last night means they got a sweep. I don’t have much to say about…