2007 Year in Review: Memorable Events


Back in 1996, I decided to make a list of the most memorable events of my life for the year. I came up with exactly 20 events and ever since then it’s been my annual exercise to recall the 20 memorable events of the year on New Years Day. Similar to Time magazine’s Person of…

2007 Year in Review: Movies


Since I’ve been reviewing movies on Panorama of the Mountains all year, this is the first chance I’ve had to look back and make a list of all the movies I’ve seen in one year. In addition to listing and linking to the reviews I’ve also rated them on a five star system. Five stars…

Movie Review: The Umbrellas of Cherbourg


The Umbrellas of Cherbourg (1964) tells a familiar story. A young man and woman, auto mechanic Guy (Nino Castelnuovo) and Geneviève (Catherine Deneuve) who works in an umbrella shop, fall madly in love. Guy is drafted into the army and Geneviève discovers she’s pregnant. In Guy’s absence, Geneviève is slowly convinced by her mother (Anne…