Abe at 199


Today is the 199th anniversary of the birth of Abraham Lincoln, America’s greatest President and one of the great leaders of all time. Coincidentally, that is also the exact same birth date of Charles Darwin. Can you imagine any two more influential figures of the 19th-century? This is one of my favorite days of the…

links of the day for 12 February 2008


And for once, most of the links are actually from today. Memories of Shea: The Great Gatsby (Loge 13, 12/10/08) – The Mets’ little-known literary link. American Insanity: Killer Commutes by Paul Dorn (Bike Commute Tips Blog, 2/11/08) – I could have written this paragraph – “As a survivor of a suburban childhood, I will…

Ireland/Britain 1998 day 23: Loch Ness


I started my day at the Inverness Tourist Information center where I learned that Dr. Gordon Williamson’s minibus tours only went out on weekends in the low season. Since 12 February 1998 was a Thursday, I could not wait around for the weekend. Instead I signed up for the dreaded Inverness Traction coach tour as…