Book Review: Brisingr by Christopher Paolini

Brisingr (2008) is the third volume in Christopher Paolini‘s Inheritance Cycle following up on Eragon and Eldest.  Since I’m not a regular reader of fantasy novels, I was a bit disappointed that Paolini decided to extend this series from three to four books, meaning I will be compelled to read yet another fantasy novel in the future.  This volume particularly is not a stand alone book and really is a series of episodes connecting together books 2 & 4.  I get the sense that if Paolini could go back to the begining and write the whole thing all over again that he would be able to get some of this detail in earlier and tighten up the cycle a bit.  That said I think this book was necessary as it really develops the characters with satisfying detail.  If Brisingr lacks a bit in the action department (or at least one coherent action narrative), I expect it will be rewarding in how it sets up the (hopefully) final volume.

Author Paolini, Christopher.
Title Brisingr, or, The seven promises of Eragon Shadeslayer and Saphira Bjartskular / Christopher Paolini.
Publication Info. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2008.
Edition 1st ed.
Description xix, 763 p. : map ; 24 cm.

Your comments are welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.