Book Review: The Historian : A Novel by Elizabeth Kostova


Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Title: The Historian : A Novel
Publication Info: Back Bay Books (2006)
ISBN: 0316154547

Summary/Review:

This novel is a horror/thriller/mystery in the vein of Dan Brown or Katherine Neville but thankfully more literary in nature.  In several layers of framing stories, The Historian tells of the search to find (and eliminate) the immortal Vlad Ţepeş (aka Dracula).  A girl learns of her parents quest to find Dracula from her father’s stories and letters, he having carried on the quest from his college mentor.  The story is fun to read as clues are pieced together and various and sundry European nations are visited.  It never feels that the main characters are really at risk though, and with the frequent allusions to Hitler and Stalin makes the Dracula in this novel appear to be an amateur.

Recommended books: The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman and Dracula by Bram Stoker.
Rating: **1/2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.