Remembering Maya Angelou


Maya Angelou died this week on May 28th.  You’ve certainly heard the news and read many tributes, but I wanted to add one more.  I think Angelou was one of the most significant Americans of the 20th century in all her influence as a poet, author, activist, spiritual leader, teacher and all the other things she accomplished over her long life.

On the day she died, I remembered on social media that I’d heard her speak once at the College of William & Mary Convocation ceremonies in August 1993.  I thought it was the most inspirational speech I’d ever heard.  Other friends shared their own memories, some who were also at the Convocation event and some who were in other rooms with Maya Angelou and some who even met her.  All the memories were positive with a mix of awe and inspiration from her wisdom.

Anyhow, one friend found an article about the Convocation address and another posted a recording of the speech, so I thought I’d share them here.

angelou

So long, sister Maya.  Your wisdom will continue to inspire down the generations.

Related Post:

 

 

Leave a Reply

