Beer Review: Yuengling Traditional Lager


Beer: Yuengling Traditional Lager
Brewer: Yuengling Brewery
Source: Draft
Rating: * (5.2 of 10)
Comments: Yuengling has long been a sentimental favorite.  First, the Yuengling Brewery is based in the same Pennsylvania county where by grandparents lived when I was a child.  Second, when I came of age in Virginia and began drinking beer regularly, Yuengling was a standard.  I’ve missed it since I moved to Massachusetts and was happy to see it reintroduced to the commonwealth this year.  So, recently when a friend and I went to a swanky bar in the South End, I saw that Yuengling was on tap (and furthermore was the only reasonably priced beer on tap).  And …. it wasn’t as good as I remembered.  The flavor isn’t strong and the aroma is tad skunky.  That being said, for the price it’s a decent quaff on a hot day.  So, I’ll add this back to my list of cheap beer standbys.

Leave a Reply

