Book Review: Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde


AuthorJasper Fforde
TitleShades of Grey
Narrator: John Lee
Publication Info: Penguin Audio (2009)
Summary/Review:

I’m a big fan of Jasper Fforde’s imaginative works, but a few years ago when I attempted to read Shades of Grey, I couldn’t finish it.  But due to my ffandom, I figured it would be worth giving the book another try as an audiobook.  The story takes place in a future dystopian society where people are sorted into castes based on their ability to perceive colors.  So, the protagonist of the story Eddie Russet is classified as a Red because he has the ability to see that color.  The concept is hard for me to grasp, and a lot of the novel, especially the early parts seems more geared to explaining this society that telling a story. I suppose all Jasper Fforde novels are set in a dystopia of some sort, but this one seems more serious than the others.  Nevertheless, I say it was worth getting through to the end of this book this time as the story definitely picks up in the second half of the book.  While not as great as Thursday Next or The Last Dragonslayer, I do look forward to reading (or listening to) future installments of this series.

Rating: **1/2

Leave a Reply

