Book Review: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame


Author: Kenneth Grahame
TitleThe Wind in the Willows
Publication Info: London: Methuen Publishing, 1908
Summary/Review:

I read portions of this book as a child (because I loved Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride at Disney World) and read the whole thing a decade or so ago, and now I read it again aloud to my son.  I was awestruck by the beautiful language, the way that Grahame strung together words to make sentences that flow like the river.  And those words, big and amazing words.  There are things I forgot, like Rat and Mole encountering the Greek god Pan (a strange crossover) and there were things that made me feel warm and cozy like Rat and Mole rowing down the river or returning to Mole’s house and receiving carolers.  And much like the last time I read it, I feel the earlier parts of the book where Rat and Mole have pleasant adventures are much better than the latter parts of the book where Toad takes over the story. I especially do not like the violent conclusion where they arm themselves to reclaim Toad Hall from the stoats and weasels.  But all’s well that ends well.
Favorite Passages:

Try and grasp the fact that on this occasion we’re not arguing with you; we’re just telling you.

Recommended books: The Trumpet of the Swan by E. B. White, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
Rating: ****

Leave a Reply

