Book Review: Ben and Me by Robert Lawson


Author:  Robert Lawson
TitleBen and Me
Publication Info: Boston, Mass. : Little, Brown, c1939.
Summary/Review:

I remember this story from when I was a kid, although I think I only saw the movie which I recall being less acerbic.  The basic gist is the same, Ben Franklin’s career as inventor, scientist, politician, and ambassador is aided by his friendship with a wise mouse named Amos.  Turns out that seemingly every leader of the Revolution and in the French court has a mouse giving advice.  There is a lot of absurdity and fun wordplay that gives this book its humor while still offering an accessible view into the life of Franklin for young readers.  I read it aloud to my son and he really enjoyed it.
Rating: ***

Leave a Reply

