Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Facts About Me (mostly bookish)


Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Facts About Me (bookish or just general about you facts or ten facts about you as a blogger…whatever you want).” I learned about this meme from my Comment Challenge partner at A Kernel of Nonsense.

  1. I’m inspired to participate in this meme, because despite getting better at scheduling posts ahead of time, I have nothing else to post today.  This is supposed to be my movie and tv review day, but I’ve not watched anything in the past week even though there are 140 items in my Netflix queue.
  2. Unlike most bookish people who read their favorite books again and again, I tend to read most books once.  Even when I want to reread a beloved book I find myself constrained by the desire to read all the other books I haven’t read yet.  Maybe my motto is YORO?
  3. I had very little interest in science fiction, fantasy, and comic books/graphic novels when I was young, but I started getting interested in my mid-30s.
  4. Despite reading a lot and holding a masters in library and information science, I try not to own books.  I think this sets me apart from other bookish people who like to surround themselves with books.  When I moved from Virginia to Massachusetts in 1998 I divested myself of almost every book I owned and haven’t added many since.  I just think too many books are clutter and that they’re better off in a library.  Of course I’m lucky to have access to many public and academic libraries to borrow books and digital files.
  5. The exception is that our house is filled with children’s books.  It’s great to have a large selection of books on hand for the kids, and I read 3 books each night with one of the children.
  6. That being said, while I’m philosophically opposed to book burning in the vast majority of cases, I would happily toss the following books onto the fire: Truckery Rhymes and Sesame Street: Elmo Look and Find.
  7. My wife and I once did a walking tour across London following the routes of characters from Virginia Woolfe’s Mrs. Dalloway.  It’s a great way to visit a city.  One of these days I’m going to make a tour of Cambridge based on Quentin Compson’s peregrinations in The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner (stopping short of jumping into the Charles River, of course).
  8. The first book I read on my own was a children’s book about cats.  One of the cat facts in this book was that cats like to sit on books which my cat demonstrated by sitting on the book about cats.
  9. My favorite book series is Jasper Ffforde’s Thursday Next, which features a book-crazy populace who reenact Richard III in the style of Rocky Horror. Thursday also learns to jump into books, which I think would be a great superpower.
  10. If you poke around this blog you’ll find links to my favorite books of all time, a constantly updated reading list, and a catalog of almost every book I’ve ever read.
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Facts About Me (mostly bookish)

  1. I’m guessing your desire to burn said books is linked to having to read them over and over again to your kids. Am I correct? I’d say it’s very unique not to own a bunch of books even though you love them a lot (and have no desire to acquire more). One thing I’ve always struggled with with books is how much room they take up. I actually ended up building wall shelves and it’s so much better than having a bunch of bookshelves taking up so much space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

