50 Years, 50 Albums (2014): Transgender Dysphoria Blues by Against Me!

I will turn 50 in November of this year, so my project for 2023 will be to listen to and review one album from each year of my life, 1973 to 2022.  The only qualification is that it has to be an album I’ve not reviewed previously. 


Top Grossing Albums of 2014:

  1. 1989 – Taylor Swift
  2. Frozen – soundtrack
  3. x – Ed Sheeran
  4. Ghost Stories – Coldplay
  5. In the Lonely Hour – Sam Smith

Grammy Award for Album of the Year of 2014:

  • Morning Phase – Beck
  • In the Lonely Hour – Sam Smith
  • BEYONCÉ – Beyoncé
  • x – Ed Sheeran
  • G I R L – Pharrell Williams

Other Albums I’ve Reviewed from 2014:


Album: Transgender Dysphoria Blues
Artist: Against Me!
Release Date: January 21, 2014
Label: Total Treble, Xtra Mile
Favorite Tracks:

  • Transgender Dysphoria Blues
  • True Trans Soul Rebel
  • Osama bin Laden as the Crucified Christ
  • Dead Friend
  • Paralytic States

Thoughts: By happy coincidence, this review comes just a few days before Transgender Day of Visibility (March 31).  This is the 6th album for the Florida punk rock band Against Me! but the first after the band’s lead vocalist, guitarist, and songwriter Laura Jane Grace came out as transgender.  Naturally the lyrics deal with Grace’s gender dysphoria and transition as well as the not always supportive response of the punk community.  These songs really rock, a style of melodic punk I really enjoy, topped with the growl of Grace’s voice.

Rating: ****

Your comments are welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.