Book Review: I, Claudius by Robert Graves


Author: Robert Graves
Title: I, Claudius
Publication Info: [Ashland, Or.] : Blackstone Audio, [2008], p1994. [First published in 1934]
ISBN1433213818

Summary/Review:

Graves’ novel is a fictional memoir of Claudius as he tells the story of his unlikely rise from a lame, stuttering and overlooked relation of the imperial family to become the third of the Caesars to rise to emperor.  Claudius tells of the greed, lust, backstabbing, intrigue, and occasional valor within the imperial court in a gossipy tone (which the audiobook narrator makes sound positively catty).  I, Claudius is steeped in history and humanity.  I enjoyed listening to this novel although I don’t think I will continue to read in the series.
Rating: ***

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.