National Parks I’ve Visited


Visiting Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks means that the grand total of National Parks I have visited is now the unimpressive number of five!  This is one downside of living in the Northeast where we have no National Parks within day trip distance.

National Parks Visited (5 of 62):
Acadia
Grand Teton
Great Smoky Mountains
Shenandoah
Yellowstone

Now I’d be happy to visit any of the remaining 57 National Parks, but at the pace I’m at of five parks in 47 years, I’m going to have to prioritize. So I made a list of the top ten National Parks I’d like to see.

National Parks Wishlist:
Arches
Crater Lake
Everglades
Glacier
Grand Canyon
Isle Royale
Joshua Tree
Mesa Verde
Voyageurs
Yosemite

I’ve had better luck visiting other National Park Service units other than the National Parks.  By my accounting I’ve been to 54 out of 419 National Park Service units. Luckily, there are plenty more of these in New England and New York that I could fairly easily add in the near future.

National Monuments (4 of 84):
African Burial Ground
Castle Clinton
Muir Woods
Statue of Liberty
National Historical Parks (11 of 57):
Boston
C&O Canal
Colonial
Harpers Ferry
Independence
Lowell
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Minute Man
New Bedford Whaling
San Francisco Maritime
Valley Forge
National Historic Sites (11 of 76):
Boston African American
Ford’s Theatre
Fort Point
Fort Vancouver
Frederick Law Olmsted
Home of Franklin D. Roosevelt
Jamestown
Lower East Side Tenement
Pennsylvania Avenue
Saint Paul’s Church
Salem Maritime
National Battlefield Parks (1 of 4):
Richmond
National Memorials (9 of 30):
Arlington House
Federal Hall
Franklin Delano Roosevelt
General Grant
Lincoln Memorial
Thomas Jefferson
Vietnam Veterans
Washington Monument
Wright Brothers
National Recreation Areas (3 of 18):
Boston Harbor Islands
Gateway
Golden Gate
National Seashores (4 of 10):
Assateague Island
Cape Cod
Cape Hatteras
Point Reyes
National Parkways (2 of 4):
Blue Ridge
John D. Rockefeller, Jr.
National Historic and Scenic Trails (1 of 3):
Appalachian Trail
Other NPS protected areas and administrative groups (3 of 11):
National Capital Parks
National Mall
Wolf Trap

One thought on “National Parks I’ve Visited

  1. I also love to visit as many parks as I can. I’ve visited Cuyahoga Valley, Death Valley, Gateway Arch, Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest, Shenandoah, and Zion, and hope to visit many more soon (we only moved back out West about a year ago).

    Like

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.