Album Reviews


If you are a regular reader, you may have noticed that I haven’t posted a new album review since last year.  When New Years Day arrived, I thought about how I wanted to make my album reviews more interesting and more meaningful.  I came up with the idea that I would listen more and write less.  That is I would listen to lots of albums several times and then write about the ones that moved me the most.

With my focus drawn to reviewing movies, writing my A to Z Challenge posts, and the various distractions of the pandemic and isolation, I’ve ended up not writing a single album review in 2020!  To address that I’ve culled some titles from various “Best of 2020, so far” lists as well as suggestions from friends on social media.  I plan to listen through all these albums and then write and post 1 to 3 album reviews each Friday in June.

If you have any suggestions of any albums I should add to the list, let me know in the comments, and I’ll be sure to give it a listen.

Tony Allen, Hush Masekela – Rejoice
Fiona Apple – Fetch the Bolt Cutters
The Ballroom Thieves – Unlovely
The Big Moon – Walking Like We Do 
Vanessa Carlton – Love Is An Art 
CocoRosie – Put the Shine On 
Dua Lipa – Future Nostalgia
Halsey – Manic
Indigo Girls – Look Long
Kvelertak – Splid
Moon Hooch – Life on Other Planets
Mourning [A] BLKstar – The Cycle
Jonah Mutono – GERG
Pinegrove – Marigold
Peel Dream Magazine – Agitprop Alterna
Perfume Genius – Set My Heart on Fire Immediately
Pert Near Sandstone – Castles in the Air
Porridge Radio – Every Bad
Rina Sawayama – Sawayama
Sparks – A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip
SPECTRES – Nostalgio
Moses Sumney – Grae
Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – Temple
U.S. Girls – Heavy Light
Waxahatchee – Saint Cloud

Monthly Mixtape – May 2020


Another month in isolation, and music becomes even more important for lifting our spirits and connecting us to our shared humanity.  Here are some of the best new songs I heard this month.

Jónsi :: Exhale

Nick Leng :: Music to Clean the House to

Minimal Violence – RAVEBOMB

Ela Minus :: they told us it was hard, but they were wrong.

Mourning [A] BLKStar :: If I Can I May

Jonah Mutono :: The Low

Nation of Language :: Friend Machine

Samia :: Is There Something in the Movies?

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down :: Phenom

Bonus points for creating the first music video to draw on the pandemic stay at home experience by filming entirely in Zoom.

Previous Mixtapes: